top of page
Messy Workshop



Diesel Generators Compliance in Delhi-NCR: CAQM Announces Relaxation, Issues New Deadline

The Commission for Air Quality and Management (CAQM), appointed by the Supreme Court, has recently announced relaxations in the emission-related restrictions for diesel generators in Delhi-NCR. The measures, introduced on June 2 under Direction 73, are a way to mitigate air pollution. The commission has also extended the deadline for converting diesel generators to Dual Fuel or Retrofit Emission Control Devices from May 15, 2023, to September 30, 2023. The CAQM has been proactive in implementing measures to reduce air pollution across Delhi-NCR. Recently they shared how Delhi had the best air quality in the last eight years, with the exception of 2020.

What are CAQM's new guidelines?

Energeia has broken down the guidelines for you in the following table:

The Commission for Air Quality and Management activates GRAP as an emergency measure to combat rising air pollution in Delhi-NCR. It is generally activated in mid-October and stays on till around March when the air pollution is high. It is important because at this time a slew of directions kick in, including stricter restrictions on the use of Diesel Generators. According to the National Clean Air Programme, diesel generators contribute up to 18% of ambient air pollution in non-attainment cities.

The remaining months from April - September is called the Non-GRAP period.


What are the highlights of the CAQM guidelines?

The guidelines are binding on Industrial, Commercial, Residential, and Official establishments in Delhi-NCR.

If you have any queries reach out to us at, +91 9319271849 or click here to get a quote now.


What are the districts that fall under Delhi-NCR?

i) Haryana: Faridabad, Gurugram, Nuh, Rohtak, Sonepat, Rewari, Jhajjhar, Gurugram, Panipat, Palwal, Bhiwani, Charkhi Dadri, Mahendragarh, Jind and Karnal

ii) Uttar Pradesh: Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar (Greater Noida and Noida), Bulandshahr, Baghpat, Hapur, Shamli, and Muzaffarnagar

iii) Rajasthan: Alwar and Bharatpur

iv) Delhi: Whole of NCT Delhi


bottom of page